Skip to main content

The Road to Federation

The Road to Federation

You’ll find on this page:

Permanent Exhibition
Main floor
Open Daily, 10am-2pm

Suitable for all ages

Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day, and Good Friday.

Entry is by Gold Coin Donation.


What do you know about Australia’s federation journey? Learn about exhibitions currently on offer at the Bay Discovery Centre Museum.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia agreed to unite and form the Commonwealth of Australia, establishing a system of federalism in Australia. Learn about who played a key role in this movement in South Australia, including Charles Cameron Kingston, and how this process changed our nation.