How we are responding to COVID-19 (coronavirus)
Find out more
Skip to main content

The Glenelg Air-raid shelter is closed for Winter.

Any enquiries or donation offers can be directed to the History Centre Coordinator for further information.

The Glenelg Air-Raid Shelter was built in 1942 as part of a WWII communications network. It now houses exhibitions and memorabilia which tell the stories of Holdfast Bay and its residents during the various wars including WWII.

From the Bay to the Battlefield

Explore the stories behind the faces of Holdfast Bay WWI servicemen and women in: From the Bay to the Battlefield
A project made possible by the Australian Government’s ANZAC Centenary Local Grants Program.