Skip to main content

Australia Day awards for outstanding community service

Wednesday 27 January 2021

Six inspiring members of the Holdfast Bay community have been honoured with Australia Day Community Awards.

Among the recipients was Jenny Tuck, who was posthumously awarded with the Community Recognition Award. Among her attributes was her love for the arts and the owner of the Splashout Studio at Brighton, her support for other local business operators and charitable organisations.

Jenny was described as the “heart and soul of the community”. “The world is a better place for having had her in it,” Holdfast Bay Mayor Amanda Wilson said at the Australia Day local awards ceremony held at Glenelg on Tuesday.

The highest Australia Day honour - Citizen of the Year for the City of Holdfast Bay - was awarded to Ronald Knolder.

“We are proud to acknowledge Ron for the significant service he has given to the local Catholic Parish but also to the people in his local community,” Mayor Wilson said.

As well as his dedication to his local church parish, he also volunteers at a local school, checks on elderly neighbours, hosts at-risk and lonely residents at his home and cooks for them, as well as other frail residents. He takes elderly people on outings around Adelaide and hosts picnics for them, and has recently joined the Holdfast Bay Home Maintenance team as a volunteer.

Other award recipients included:

  • Community Event of the Year, Sarah Tinney, the organiser of the Marilyn Jetty Swim at Brighton.
    In 2006 Sarah’s Mum was diagnosed with cancer and from that day, Sarah pledged to raise money to cure cancer in her Mum’s honour. The Marilyn Jetty Swim is now in its seventh year and has raised more than half a million dollars for the Cancer Council of SA.
  • Young Citizen of the Year, Lori Chandler.
    Lori is a member of the Seacliff Surf Life Saving Club, is studying sports science at uni and trains and coaches athletes of all ages, from 5-year-olds to people aged over 60. Noting a gap in retaining females at surf clubs, Lori established a new committee at the club, called ‘Girls at Seacliff’.
  • Award for Active Citizenship, Emma Sandery.
    Emma is an active and inspiring member of our community and is the person behind the Seacliff Community Produce Swap event. She also manages a ‘Buy Nothing’ Facebook group to encourage people to share, swap, give-away or lend their items for free, to boost community engagement and connection while also reducing the items going into landfill.
  • Local Hero Award, Avril Noy.
    Avril established the Emergency Relief service at St Andrew’s Church, Glenelg, during the COVID-19 pandemic, to ensure the community’s vulnerable were still cared for with food assistance and chemist vouchers. Avril is valued by those she helps for the compassionate and inclusiveness she provides.

In addition to the community awards, 51 people, from 16 countries, became Australian citizens.

*Jenny Tuck’s posthumous Community Recognition Award was accepted on her behalf by Krysia Ciesiolkiewicz.

* Lori Chandler’s Young Citizen of the Year Award was accepted by her parents Andrew and Kate Chandler.