Skip to main content

Councils are part of the democratic framework of Australia. In South Australia, Local Government Elections are held every four years. The next periodic council election will take place in November 2022.

Local Government Elections provide an opportunity for the community to elect representatives who will advocate for the interests and needs of the community. The Elected Members facilitate communication between residents and the Council and provide leadership and guidance amongst the community.

The rules for elections are set out in the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999. The Local Government (Elections) Act 1999 and council's Caretaker Policy outline the requirements for the conduct of Council and its staff during the election period.

Voters Roll

It is not compulsory to vote in South Australian council elections and voting is done by post. You must be enrolled to vote to receive a voting package through the mail with a reply paid envelope.

If you are not enrolled on the state electoral roll you may still be entitled to enrol to vote if you own or occupy a property or are a resident non-Australian citizen.

To be included on the Council supplementary roll, it is necessary to make application to the Council for enrolment. Forms below can be accepted in the year of election:

The supplementary roll expires on 1 January of each periodic election year and electors must renew their enrolment on the voters roll.

For more information on how to enrol, please check ECSA Council Election Fast Facts.

2022 Local Government Election Timetable

Event Date
Roll close 5pm, Friday 29 July 2022
Opening of nominations Tuesday 23 August 2022
Nominations close 12 noon, Tuesday 6 September 2022
Dispatch of ballot material to electors Between Friday 14 October and Thursday 20 October 2022
Close of voting (Polling Day) 5pm, Thursday 10 November 2022
Scrutiny and count 9am, Saturday 12 November 2022